Compare · Speechify
A free, fully offline Speechify alternative for iPhone and iPad
Sandbook is a free Speechify alternative for iPhone: at the time of writing (September 2026) Speechify Premium lists at $139/year on its own site, and Sandbook's 41 voices cost nothing and run offline. If you are looking for a Speechify alternative because of the subscription, or because the documents you want read have to be sent to someone else's servers to be read, Sandbook is the opposite design: one free app for iPhone and iPad with the whole speech model inside it. It is also smaller in scope than Speechify in ways worth knowing before you switch.
iOS 18.2 or later · iPhone 12 or later & iPad · No account
In short
What is a free offline Speechify alternative for iPhone?
Sandbook is a free iPhone and iPad app that generates speech on the device — no subscription, no account, no character cap — where Speechify's free tier is 10 voices capped at 1.5× speed and Premium is $29 a month. Speechify wins on breadth: 1,000+ voices in 60+ languages, cross-device sync, and web and browser apps. Sandbook has 41 voices in six languages, scans printed pages on the device, and needs iOS 18.2 on an iPhone 12 or later. Its real-time reading pauses when the screen locks.
Last verified 28 September 2026
The short version
Speechify is a broad reading service: mobile apps, a web app and browser extensions sharing one synced library, with over a thousand voices in more than sixty languages and a camera scanner for printed pages, sold as a subscription.
Sandbook is a single iPhone and iPad app with one job. It bundles Kokoro-82M — an open-weights neural TTS model, in a download of about 276 MB with all 41 voices included — and runs every sentence on the device's GPU. 41 voices in six languages, no account, no purchase, no server doing the speaking.
If you read in several languages, or across a browser and a phone with one library behind both, Speechify is the better product and this page will not argue otherwise. If you want a reader that works with no signal, costs nothing, and never sees your files, keep reading.
Where the speech is actually made
This is the difference everything else follows from. Speechify's voice library lives on Speechify's infrastructure: the text goes up, the audio comes back. That is how it can offer 1,000+ voices and 60+ languages without a 40 GB download. On 18 December 2025 Speechify added a set of on-device iOS voices that run locally through Apple's Core ML, so this is no longer strictly cloud-only — but the large library remains a hosted service.
Sandbook has no speech service behind it. The model file, the 41 voice embeddings and the phonemizer all ship in the app bundle, and inference runs on the GPU through Apple MLX at 24 kHz. Nothing you read is uploaded, so nothing can be metered; there is no character limit or minute quota because there is nobody to bill. The ways other free tiers do meter you are set out in five ways free text to speech stops being free.
What Speechify does that Sandbook doesn't
Said plainly, because you will find out anyway:
- Languages. 60+ against Sandbook's six (US and UK English, Spanish, French, Italian, Brazilian Portuguese and Hindi).
- Voice choice. 1,000+ voices against 41.
- Everywhere else. A web app and browser extensions alongside the iOS app, with the library syncing across devices. Sandbook is an iPhone and iPad app, and your books and reading positions stay on that device.
One more gap belongs on this page even though we cannot source the other half of it. Sandbook's real-time reading pauses when the screen locks, because the speech model holds real GPU memory while it runs; only a chapter prepared ahead of time plays locked. That is its biggest single limitation against almost any reading app. No Speechify page we checked on 14 September 2026 states whether Speechify plays with the screen off, so if listening with the phone in a pocket is what decides it for you, check that your alternative supports it before you switch.
What Sandbook does that Speechify doesn't
It costs nothing, permanently, with every voice included from the first launch and no character cap. It works with no connection — not "download it first and play it later", but synthesizing new text in airplane mode. It asks for no account, shows no ads and does not track you, and your books never leave the device.
And it handles PDFs unusually carefully. Sandbook rejoins the invisible line breaks a page layout leaves in the text and stitches hyphenated words back together before speaking, so a paper reads as prose rather than as a list of lines. Books get word-by-word highlighting, tap-a-paragraph-to-read, auto-advance between chapters, per-book voice and speed, and they open where you stopped. Printed pages can be scanned with the camera and read the same way.
You can hear Sandbook's voices in your browser before installing, so the switch is decided by ear rather than by a feature list.
Compare
| Sandbook | Speechify | |
|---|---|---|
| Price | Free. No in-app purchase, no subscription, no character or minute cap. | Free tier: 10 voices the vendor itself calls robotic, playback capped at 1.5× speed, text-to-speech features only. Paid: Premium at $29/month or $139/year (vendor website). The US iOS App Store sells differently named products at different prices — Premium Monthly at $11.99/month and at $24.99/month, and a product called Premium at $139.99 with no billing period stated. |
| Where speech is generated | On your iPhone or iPad, on the GPU, every time. | Mostly on Speechify's servers. On 18 December 2025 Speechify added on-device iOS voices that run locally through Apple's Core ML. |
| Works offline | Yes, completely, including synthesis of text you have never opened before. | Partly. The on-device iOS voices run with no connection; the 1,000+ cloud voice library needs one. |
| Account required | No. There is no sign-in screen anywhere in the app. | Library syncs across devices. No Speechify page we checked on 14 September 2026 states whether an account is required in order to listen. |
| Voices | 41, all bundled, all free, one quality tier for everyone. | 1,000+ on Premium; 10 on the free tier. |
| Languages | 6: US and UK English (28 voices), Spanish, French, Italian, Brazilian Portuguese and Hindi. 41 voices in all. | 60+ on Premium. |
| Listening with the screen locked | Only a chapter prepared ahead of time. Real-time reading pauses when the screen locks. | Not stated on any Speechify page we checked on 14 September 2026. If listening with the screen off matters to you, check that your alternative supports it before you switch. |
| Formats | EPUB, PDF, TXT, RTF, Markdown, HTML, web pages, camera scans and photos, typed or pasted text. No DOCX. | Documents, articles, PDFs, email, and photographed or screenshotted pages. |
| Platforms | iPhone and iPad. iOS 18.2 or later; iPhone 12 or later, or an iPad with an A14 or M1 chip or later. | iPhone and iPad on iOS 17.0 or later, and Apple Vision on visionOS 1.0 or later. Speechify also sells a web app and browser extensions. |
| Audio export | M4A, from the Reader tab (typed or pasted text). No whole-book export. | Not stated on any Speechify page we checked on 14 September 2026. |
| OCR / scanning | Camera scans and photos, recognized on the device. Image-only PDF files are not recognized. | Yes — photograph a printed page and have it read aloud. |
| Privacy | Books, text and voices stay on the device and are never uploaded. No account, no ads, no tracking. | Data Used to Track You: Identifiers (Device ID). Data Not Linked to You: Contact Info, Identifiers, Usage Data and Diagnostics — the Device ID is declared for Third-Party Advertising. The listing declares no "Data Linked to You" at all. |
Free offline alternatives to Speechify on iPhone, ranked
Apps that cost nothing to use in some real form and generate their speech on the phone rather than on a server. Sandbook publishes this list, so it is labelled.
Sandbook(the app this site is about)
Free with no in-app purchase and no cap: all 41 Kokoro-82M voices (28 in US and UK English, plus Spanish, French, Italian, Brazilian Portuguese and Hindi) from first launch; EPUB, PDF, web pages and camera scans with word-by-word highlighting; no account. Real-time reading pauses when the screen locks (prepared chapters play locked), it has 6 voice languages, fewer than some multilingual readers, and no DOCX, iCloud sync or whole-book export.
Free with no In-App Purchases row on its listing, reading PDF, EPUB, DOCX, web pages and camera scans in 31 languages, and its own site says the audio is generated on your device. It never names the speech engine.
EPUB and PDF turned into audiobooks with word-level read-along, background playback and a sleep timer, on a choice of three on-device engines. Free covers three books and three voices; the rest is $4.99/month or $33.99/year.
Already on the phone, free, and on-device once an Enhanced Quality voice has downloaded — worth trying before installing anything. It reads what is on screen: no library, no EPUB or PDF importer, and no reading position kept per file.
Ranked on four things in this order: what it costs with nothing held back, whether speech is generated on the device with no connection, voice quality, and what the app does with a book once it is open. Only apps whose own pages establish both the price and the on-device synthesis are listed.
Questions about switching from Speechify
Is this Speechify alternative really free, or is there a paid tier later?
Sandbook is free with no in-app purchase of any kind — there is no purchase code in the app to unlock anything. All 41 voices, every format and every feature are available from first launch, and there is no character or minute quota, because nothing is being billed on a server somewhere.
Can I listen with the screen locked?
Partly. Sandbook's real-time reading pauses when the screen locks, because the speech model holds GPU memory while it runs. You can prepare a chapter's audio ahead of time and that chapter then plays with the screen locked, but a whole book will not play on in your pocket. It suits reading with the phone in front of you, following each highlighted word. No Speechify page we checked on 14 September 2026 states whether Speechify plays with the screen off, so if that is the feature you are switching for, confirm it on the other side before you cancel anything.
Do Sandbook's 41 voices sound as good as Speechify's premium voices?
They are a modern neural model rather than the older system voices, and there is no lower tier — every voice runs the same 82-million-parameter model at 24 kHz. Whether you prefer them is a matter of taste, and you can audition all 41 on the voices page or live in the app before reading a page.
Can I move my Speechify library over?
Not directly. There is no import, no account and no sync. What you can do is bring the original files: any DRM-free EPUB, PDF or TXT in Files opens in Sandbook, and web articles can be read by pasting the URL. Nothing carries over automatically.
How we compared
Every figure on this page comes from Speechify’s own public pages — the listing on the US App Store, the pricing page and the privacy policy — read on 14 September 2026. Prices, limits and features change without notice: where this page and the other app disagree, believe the other app.
Sandbook publishes this comparison, so read it as our argument rather than a neutral review. Everything in the Sandbook column is what the app does today, and you can check all of it in the app itself.
Sources
Speechify sells at two counters at once, and they do not agree. Both are listed here so you can check either.
- Speechify — Pricing · checked 14 September 2026
- Speechify – Text to Speech PDF — US App Store listing (v5.5.10) · checked 14 September 2026
- Speechify — “Speechify Launches On-Device iOS AI Voices for Offline Reading” (18 December 2025) · checked 14 September 2026
Try it alongside Speechify
Speechify is the bigger product, and for several languages or one library shared across a browser and a phone it is the right one. Sandbook is the narrow Speechify alternative: free, private, one app on one device, 41 voices in six languages, and a speech model that runs on your phone.
iOS 18.2 or later · iPhone 12 or later & iPad