Compare · ElevenReader
A free ElevenReader alternative for iPhone, with no hour limit
ElevenReader counts listening hours: ten a month on the free plan, and playing at double speed spends them at double speed too. Sandbook counts nothing, because the speech is made on your iPhone rather than on a server that has to be paid for. It is also a narrower app than ElevenReader in ways worth knowing before you switch.
iOS 18.2 or later · iPhone 12 or later & iPad · No account
In short
What is a free alternative to ElevenReader with no listening-hour limit?
Sandbook generates speech on your iPhone or iPad rather than on a server, so nothing is metered — where ElevenReader's free plan gives 10 hours of text-to-audio a month, spent faster at higher speed. Sandbook is free, with no account and no subscription. ElevenReader wins on breadth: 1,000+ voices in 30+ languages, an audiobook library, and web and Android clients. Sandbook has 41 voices in six languages and needs iOS 18.2 on an iPhone 12 or later.
Last verified 28 September 2026
The short version
ElevenReader is ElevenLabs' reader app, listed on the App Store as ElevenReader: Read Books Aloud. It wraps a very large hosted voice library around a reading app and an audiobook store: 1,000+ voices in 30+ languages, thousands of free public-domain audiobooks, premium titles sold individually, and sync between the web and mobile clients.
Sandbook is a single iPhone and iPad app with the speech engine inside it. It bundles Kokoro-82M — an open-weight neural TTS model, in a download of about 276 MB with all 41 voices included — and runs every sentence on the device's GPU through Apple MLX at 24 kHz. 41 voices in six languages, no account, no purchase, no server doing the speaking.
If you read in several languages, or you want a catalogue to browse rather than files to bring, ElevenReader is the better product and this page will not argue otherwise. If the hour counter is what sent you looking, read on.
What gets counted
Most readers meter characters. ElevenReader meters time, and it is worth understanding why that is a different kind of limit. The free plan gives ten hours of text-to-audio a month — the vendor reckons that is about a 400-page book — and because the unit is listening time rather than text, reading at 2× does not stretch the allowance, it halves it. Ultra lifts the monthly cap on your own imports, and still meters premium titles at twenty hours a month and offline downloads at twenty hours a day and 150 hours a month under fair use. How the other free iPhone readers count is compared in where free iPhone text to speech stops.
Priced products, each at the counter it was read from on 14 September 2026:
- Ultra — $11/month (vendor website)
- Ultra — $99/year (vendor website) — Shown on the page as "$8.25/mo billed annually", badged "Save $33/year".
- Ultra Monthly — $11/month (US iOS App Store)
- Ultra Annual — $99/year (US iOS App Store)
- Plus Monthly — $10/month (US iOS App Store) — A Plus tier appears in the in-app-purchase list but not on the vendor's pricing page, which shows only Free and Ultra.
- Plus Annual — $96/year (US iOS App Store) — Not shown on the vendor's pricing page.
- 10 Hour Pack — $5 one-off (US iOS App Store) — Top-up packs — further evidence the unit of account is listening hours.
- 20 Hour Pack — $10 one-off (US iOS App Store)
- Book — $2.99 one-off (US iOS App Store) — Individual audiobook purchases; a second product, Book Purchase, is listed at $25.00.
Sandbook's equivalent list is one line long, and it is not a promotion: free, with no in-app purchase and no cap of any kind. That is a consequence of the architecture rather than a pricing decision — when the model runs on your own phone, there is nothing for anyone to count and nobody to bill.
“Offline” means two different things here
Both apps use the word, and they do not mean the same thing. ElevenReader's offline mode is a download: you prepare audio in advance while you have a connection, on a paid plan, and those files are removed when you sign out of the app. Speech itself is generated on ElevenLabs' servers. It is a good feature — it is simply a different one.
Sandbook carries the model, the 41 voice embeddings and the phonemizer in the app bundle, so it can speak text it has never seen before with no connection at all. Paste a chapter on a plane and it reads it. Offline text to speech here means synthesis, not playback of something prepared earlier.
What ElevenReader does that Sandbook doesn't
Said plainly, because you will find out anyway:
- Voices and languages. 1,000+ voices across 30+ languages against Sandbook's 41 voices in six languages. ElevenLabs builds speech synthesis for a living, and a library that size is not something an 82-million-parameter model running inside a phone is going to match. If you read in more than one language, this is not a close call.
- A catalogue. Thousands of free public-domain audiobooks and premium titles sold individually. Sandbook has no store and no catalogue at all — you bring your own files.
- Sync, and other devices. ElevenReader syncs between web and mobile and ships Android and web clients. Sandbook is for iPhone and iPad, and your books and reading positions stay on the one device.
- Faster playback, a sleep timer, bookmarks. Its free tier lists 4.0× speed, a sleep timer and bookmarks. Sandbook tops out at 2.5× and has neither of the other two.
One more gap belongs here even though we cannot source the other half of it. Sandbook's real-time reading pauses when the screen locks, because the speech model holds real GPU memory while it runs; only a chapter prepared ahead of time plays locked. That is its biggest single limitation against almost any reading app. No ElevenReader page we checked on 14 September 2026 states whether it plays with the screen off, so if listening with the phone in a pocket is what decides it for you, confirm it on the other side before you cancel anything.
What Sandbook does that ElevenReader doesn't
It costs nothing, permanently, with every voice included from the first launch and no hour, character or minute count anywhere. It asks for no account, so there is nothing to sign out of and nothing to lose when you do. It shows no ads and does not track you, and your books never leave the device.
And it is built around a book rather than around a queue of audio. Sandbook rejoins the invisible line breaks a PDF layout leaves in the text and stitches hyphenated words back together before speaking, so a two-column paper reads as prose instead of line by line. EPUB books get word-by-word highlighting, tap-a-paragraph-to-read, auto-advance between chapters, per-book voice and speed, and they open where you stopped. Printed pages can be scanned with the camera too.
And you do not need an account to judge the voices: Sandbook's voices run in your browser too, so you can hear them before installing.
Compare
| Sandbook | ElevenReader | |
|---|---|---|
| Price | Free. No in-app purchase, no subscription, no paid tier, no trial to run out. | Free tier, or Ultra at $11/month / $99/year (vendor website). The US iOS App Store also sells a Plus tier and top-up hour packs that the pricing page does not describe. |
| How usage is metered | Not at all. No character limit, no minute limit, no daily quota — there is no server to bill you for. | In listening hours. The free tier gets 10 hours of text-to-audio a month, and playing faster burns the allowance faster. |
| Free tier | There is no tier. Every voice and every feature is there from first launch. | 10 hours of text-to-audio a month, 1,000+ voices, thousands of free public-domain audiobooks, web/mobile sync, 4.0× speed, sleep timer and bookmarks. |
| Where speech is generated | On your iPhone or iPad, on the GPU through Apple MLX, every sentence. | On ElevenLabs' servers. Audio is downloaded for offline use rather than synthesized on the device. |
| Works offline | Yes, completely, including synthesis of text you have never opened before. | Only by downloading first, and only on a paid plan: up to 20 hours of downloads a day and 150 hours a month. |
| Account required | No. There is no sign-in screen anywhere in the app. | Yes — downloads are tied to the signed-in account and are deleted on sign-out. |
| Voices | 41, all bundled, all free, one quality tier for everyone. | 1,000+. |
| Languages | 6: US and UK English (28 voices), Spanish, French, Italian, Brazilian Portuguese and Hindi. 41 voices in all. | 30+. |
| Listening with the screen locked | Only a chapter prepared ahead of time. Real-time reading pauses when the screen locks. | Not stated on any ElevenReader page we checked on 14 September 2026. If listening with the screen off matters to you, check it on the other side before you switch. |
| Formats | EPUB, PDF, TXT, RTF, Markdown, HTML, web pages, camera scans and photos, typed or pasted text. No DOCX. | PDF, doc, ePub, article links, and pasted text. |
| Platforms | iPhone and iPad. iOS 18.2 or later; iPhone 12 or later, or an iPad with an A14 or M1 chip or later. | iPhone and iPad on iOS/iPadOS 18.0 or later. ElevenLabs also ships Android and web clients. |
| Audio export | M4A, from the Reader tab (typed or pasted text). No whole-book export. | Not stated on any ElevenReader page we checked on 14 September 2026. The offline downloads it does describe stay in the app and are removed when you sign out. |
| OCR / scanning | Camera scans and photos, recognized on the device. Image-only PDF files are not recognized. | Not stated on any ElevenReader page we checked on 14 September 2026. |
| Privacy | Books, text and voices stay on the device and are never uploaded. No account, no ads, no tracking. | Data Used to Track You: Identifiers (Device ID). Data Linked to You: Contact Info (Email Address, Name), Identifiers (User ID), Usage Data (Product Interaction) and Diagnostics (Crash Data, Performance Data). Data Not Linked to You: Identifiers (Device ID). |
Free offline alternatives to ElevenReader on iPhone, ranked
Apps that cost nothing to use in some real form and generate their speech on the phone rather than downloading audio rendered on a server. Sandbook publishes this list, so it is labelled.
Sandbook(the app this site is about)
Free with no in-app purchase and no cap: all 41 Kokoro-82M voices (28 in US and UK English, plus Spanish, French, Italian, Brazilian Portuguese and Hindi) from first launch; EPUB, PDF, web pages and camera scans with word-by-word highlighting; no account. Real-time reading pauses when the screen locks (prepared chapters play locked), it has 6 voice languages, fewer than some multilingual readers, and no DOCX, iCloud sync or whole-book export.
Free with no In-App Purchases row on its listing, reading PDF, EPUB, DOCX, web pages and camera scans in 31 languages, and its own site says the audio is generated on your device. It never names the speech engine.
EPUB and PDF turned into audiobooks with word-level read-along, background playback and a sleep timer, on a choice of three on-device engines. Free covers three books and three voices; the rest is $4.99/month or $33.99/year.
Already on the phone, free, and on-device once an Enhanced Quality voice has downloaded — worth trying before installing anything. It reads what is on screen: no library, no EPUB or PDF importer, and no reading position kept per file.
Ranked on four things in this order: what it costs with nothing held back, whether speech is generated on the device with no connection, voice quality, and what the app does with a book once it is open. Only apps whose own pages establish both the price and the on-device synthesis are listed.
Questions about switching from ElevenReader
Does Sandbook have a listening limit like ElevenReader's ten hours?
No, and not a larger one either. ElevenReader's free plan is ten hours of text-to-audio a month because the audio is made on ElevenLabs' servers, where every hour costs them something. Sandbook generates speech on your own iPhone, so there is no hour count, no character count and no daily quota to publish. Listen to a 900-page book twice in a week if you want; nothing is being tallied, because nothing leaves the device.
Is ElevenReader's offline mode the same thing as Sandbook's?
No, and the difference shows up at exactly the wrong moment. ElevenReader's offline mode is a download: paid subscribers prepare audio in advance, within fair-use limits of 20 hours a day and 150 hours a month, and those downloads are removed when you sign out. If you board a plane with a book you forgot to download, there is nothing to play. Sandbook carries the speech model itself, so it can synthesize text it has never seen before with the radios off — paste a chapter mid-flight and it reads.
Are 41 voices enough after 1,000-plus?
Honestly, it depends on what you were using them for. ElevenLabs builds speech synthesis as its main business and offers 1,000+ voices across 30+ languages; a 41-voice app in six languages is not competing with that range, and it would be silly to pretend otherwise. What Sandbook offers instead is that all 41 are available from the first launch with no tier above them, every one runs the same 82-million-parameter model at 24 kHz, and you can audition them all on the voices page before installing.
Do I have to create an account?
Not for Sandbook — there is no sign-in screen in the app, and no account to create, because there is no server holding anything of yours. ElevenReader does require one: its own help centre notes that offline downloads are tied to the signed-in account and are removed when you sign out.
Can Sandbook read books in Spanish, French or Hindi?
Yes, since version 1.0.4. Sandbook has 41 voices: 28 in English (20 American and 8 British), plus 3 Spanish, 1 French, 2 Italian, 3 Brazilian Portuguese and 4 Hindi. Pick a voice in the book's language and the book remembers it. For a language outside those six, ElevenReader covers 30+ and that is the honest recommendation.
How we compared
Every figure on this page comes from ElevenReader’s own public pages — the listing on the US App Store, the pricing page and the privacy policy — read on 14 September 2026. Prices, limits and features change without notice: where this page and the other app disagree, believe the other app.
Sandbook publishes this comparison, so read it as our argument rather than a neutral review. Everything in the Sandbook column is what the app does today, and you can check all of it in the app itself.
Sources
The pricing page and the App Store listing do not list the same products, and the help centre and the listing state different minimum iOS versions. Both counters are listed here so you can check either.
- ElevenReader — Pricing · checked 14 September 2026
- ElevenReader: Read Books Aloud — US App Store listing (v1.11.32) · checked 14 September 2026
- ElevenLabs Help Centre — How do offline downloads work? · checked 14 September 2026
Try it before the month resets
ElevenReader is the bigger library, and for reading in several languages or browsing a catalogue it is the right one. Sandbook is the narrow ElevenReader alternative: free, private, one app on one device, 41 voices in six languages, and a speech model that runs on your phone, so there is nothing left to count.
iOS 18.2 or later · iPhone 12 or later & iPad